Helping You Get Better

Here’s what to know about workers’ compensation in Georgia

On Behalf of | Feb 7, 2022 | Workers' Compensation

Every year, it’s a good idea to go over the workers’ compensation rules for your state. They can change, so knowing what the laws are and any changes that have been made is vital to protecting yourself.

Georgia has a few workers’ compensation regulations that make it easier for you to get compensated when you’ve been hurt at work. Here are three things you should know.

  1. Employers need to have workers’ compensation when they have three or more employees

To start with, employers in Georgia do need to carry workers’ compensation when they have three or more employees. Employers who fail to do this can be charged a fine of up to $5,000 per violation. Remember, too, that Georgia recognizes sole proprietors and partners as employers instead of employees.

  1. False statements can land you in jail

Making false statements to seek compensation can result in fines of up to $10,000. Additionally, there is a potential 12-month jail sentence.

  1. Companies can’t make false statements, either

Companies or employers who use false statements to deny coverage can also face jail for up to a year and fines of up to $10,000 per instance.

It’s important for you to know where you stand after you’ve gotten hurt at work. Realistically, you should be able to seek compensation when you’ve gotten hurt and are an employee of a company. While companies with fewer than three employees may not have workers’ compensation, the majority of companies will need to carry it.

You can seek compensation if you’ve gotten hurt on the job

After you’re hurt, talk to your employer about their workers’ compensation insurance policy and say that you’d like to make a claim. You should keep records about your injury and make sure to be persistent if your employer doesn’t get you the information you need.

If you are denied workers’ compensation benefits or are not sure how to proceed, it’s helpful to look into your legal rights and responsibilities. You have limited time to make a claim, so you need to do what you can as soon as possible.